Music · Recording Studio · Tiny House

Do Not Deny The Asian His Rice Cooker! – Downsizing

 

So this last weekend we spent a lot of time at home going through all our STUFF! I have no idea how we acquired so much after only living together for two years and moving all the way across the country, but somehow it has just piled up. We went through our clothes and sold some to Plato’s Closet while others were donated. We also donated extra dishes, blankets, sheets, vases, shoes, and even some books to our local Soroptimist Thrift Store. It has been quite the adventure! As we go through our things, some of the decisions are easy, things we never use or wear, we toss. While other decisions are much harder and have memories or sentiment attached to them, these items have taken longer to go through.

I was going through our dishes Sunday morning, counting out four of everything and packaging up extra plates and baking dishes, when I came across our little 6 cup rice cooker. Now, granted, we used to use this a lot, but lately we’ve been eating less rice and more veggies & proteins so I thought, “Hmm, I wonder if we really need this anymore…?” So I held it up asked my husband, Nic, “Hey, do you think we should keep this? Or should we just cook rice on the stove when we need to?” Well… I wish you could have seen his face! He looked at me with the face of a Ninja warrior, slowly straightened up, and said, “We are NOT getting rid of that! We will make it fit!” Needless to say, we still have our rice cooker! And I did not get karate chopped!

But for real, downsizing is hard… however, it can also be very rewarding. It feels good to know what you have and why you have it. If there’s not a good reason or if the item serves no purpose in your daily life then why let it weigh you down or take up space you could use for something useful? This journey is challenging us to become more frugal, be thankful for what we have, and be more conscious of what we choose to spend our time on.

Have you done any pairing down lately? I’d love to hear your stories and advice! I have to go through my art supplies next… my warrior face will most likely show itself too. Thanks so much for following us!

Until next time,

Maria

Leave a Reply

